Angel Hair

I regret taking this long to post. Life happens, and did a lot of life happen to us in the last few months!

We decided that things weren’t hectic enough with a new baby. So in August we put an offer on a home, closed on the house in September, and moved about 3 weeks ago.

;

Our new home

We’ve moved before, in fact 2 other times in our almost 3 years of marriage (3 if you count when I moved out to Mississippi after we said our vows). However, nothing can quite compare to moving with a baby. Even a cute baby, like this one.

Cutest.Baby.Ever.

Thanks to both of our families the move actually wasn’t horrible, and now we are comfortably settled in our new home, unpacking a box at a time, whenever the little one will allow.

Anyway, back to the reason for my post.

My husband and I are a lot alike, more so than most couples I have come across. We have the same sense of humor, enjoy spending our time the same way ( usually), and most importantly share the same spiritual beliefs. I can honestly say he is my best friend, and the person that I want to spend all of my time with.

That being said, where we are different, we are different. I have to be in bed by 10:00, and can wake up as early as need be, without a problem. He can stay up until midnight, but struggles to wake up in the morning. He has to shower everyday, no matter what. I have been known to maybe skip a day or two ( just being honest here folks).

All of this came to my mind this evening, after dinner. I was washing dishes, and Rod was feeding P the last bottle for the night.

A little background information, my husband and I text. Constantly. If he’s in another room in the house, we text. While he’s at work, we text (whenever he isn’t busy). We are always connected to each other. Some people would find that smothering. We have had a continuous conversation going since 2009, and I LOVE it.

Anyway, since I was in the kitchen, and he was in the nursery, naturally we were texting one another.

I stopped in the middle of bagging up left overs to grab my phone and message Rod. He just happened to be sending me one as well. His was a link to an ESPN article, about a high school football team, who decided to look after a special needs child who was being bullied. Beautiful article, I suggest you all read it.

Oh, and what was I sending?

;

My cannibal pickup line, that I had just made up in my head, and couldn’t stop laughing at.

;

It reminded me of another time, not too long ago. We were living with my parents at the time, and my sister was home. I was in the bathroom, and I asked Rod to bring me a glass I had been drinking from. He called out

“The half full one?”

Without skipping a beat I replied

“No, the half empty one”

;

I didn’t even realize what had just happened until I heard my sister’s uncontrollable laughter. As funny as it was, we were both completely serious, and had responded naturally.

That basically sums up my marriage.

I can be hot-headed and quick to a temper, Rod is laid back and not easily excitable. Someone comes to me with an idea, I immediately think of the negative things. Rod looks at things from a more positive perspective.

I can’t count the amount of times I had an angry text ready to send, or a well-timed ( and arguably well deserved) comeback to deliver to someone, and Rod talked sense into me.

I love that about marriage. It truly is a balancing act. If we were too similar, the scale would be tipped one way or the other, and eventually collapse on itself. Rod encourages when it is needed, I help by being practical when the time calls for it.

I am so thankful for a husband who accepts me and my half empty glass.

For those of you who were wondering ( and I know you all secretly were) here was my cannibal pick up line.

“Hey beautiful, if I was a cannibal, I’d turn you into pasta. Because you have angel hair.”

Katie

3 comments

  1. Such a cute post! I love you guys! 🙂

  2. Joy Duncan · · Reply

    This is the Katie with the sense of humor that I loved in my classroom when she would let me see it! You have grown into a beautiful woman who is becoming the beautiful mother that her mother taught her to be!

  3. Sarah · · Reply

    LOL, I remember that with the glass! 😛 Loved your post, Katie! =)

Leave a Reply

